November 25 – Thanksgiving

“Offer unto God thanksgiving; and pay thy vows unto the most High: And call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify me.”  Psalm 50: 14-15

What is Thanksgiving? A fall harvest festival set aside for celebrating and thanking God for plentiful crops. It was first decreed by Massachusetts Colony Governor Bradford in 1623. On November 25, 1789, President George Washington issued a general proclamation for a day of thanksgiving, but there was no regular Thanksgiving Day until President Lincoln, in 1863, set aside the last Thursday in November as a national holiday to give “praise to our beneficent Father.”

Thank God that we have a nation that still recognizes the value of a national day of thanksgiving. It is one reason why America is blessed of God. Scripture promises specific blessings in return for thanksgiving:

1) Deliverance comes (Psalm 50:14-15)

2) Prayers are answered (Philippians 4:6-7)

3) Opens the door to worship (Psalm 100:4)

4) Offers additional blessings (Luke 17:15-19)

Jonah prayed with “a song of thanksgiving, and was delivered from the belly of a great fish. (See Jonah 2:9a, NIV.) Your deliverance will also come on the wings of thanksgiving. Make it your priority today!

PRAY: “O Lord, You have given me so much. Grant me one thing more. . . a heart of thanksgiving I love You, I bless You, I praise You, I honor You, I give You glory today. In Jesus’ wonderful Name, I pray. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

