September 9 – Ears to Hear

“Who hath ears to hear, let him hear.” Matthew 13:9

Someone has determined that—

*People hear only half of what is said;

*They understand only half of what they hear;

*They believe only half of what they understand; and

*They remember only half of what they believe.

If that is true, you actually will absorb only one-sixteenth of the knowledge that is shared with you verbally.

Isaiah even prophesied: “You will be ever hearing but never understanding; you will be ever seeing but never perceiving. For this people’s heart has become calloused; they hardly hear with their ears, and they have closed their eyes. Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts and turn, and I would heal them.” (Isaiah 6:9-10, NIV)

After Jesus told His parables to the people, He explained them to His disciples and said, “Blessed are your eyes, for they see: and your ears, for they hear.” (Matthew 13:16) They had a willingness and desire to hear and learn, which Jesus honored.

How about you? Will you “hear” the teachings of Jesus today so that your heart can be healed?

PRAY: “Open my ears and my understanding, Lord, so that I may catch all you want to teach me today. Help me to believe and remember it, too, so my life will be fruitful in Your kingdom here on earth. I pray in Jesus’ Name. Amen.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.