April 2 – Cheerful Giving

“Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or necessity; for God loveth a cheerful giver.” II Corinthians 9:7

Have you ever wondered to yourself thoughts similar to these:  “I give my tithe to the Lord’s work, and yet I seem to be short of funds all the time.”  “God promises abundant blessings, but it just isn’t working for me.”  “I give to God, but the devourer still takes away.”

Perhaps your practice of giving needs a little adjustment from God’s Word.  Check your attitude in giving as you review these principles:

1)  Give yourself.  (II Corinthians 8:5)
2)  Give with contemplation beforehand.  (II Cor. 9:7a)
3)  Give ungrudgingly.  (II Corinthians 9:7b)
4)  Give cheerfully.  (II Corinthians 9:7c)
5)  Give without reluctance.  (II Corinthians 9:7, Amp.)
6)  Give without feeling pressure.  (II Cor. 9:7, Amp.)
7)  Give in faith, expecting a harvest.  (Luke 6:38)

Only as you give according to God’s plan can He open the windows of heaven and pour out His blessing as He has promised.  Do it God’s way . . . you will like the returns!

Pray:
“Generous Father, there really is much to learn about giving and sharing in Your kingdom.  Help me to understand where I fall short of Your plan.  Help me to line up with Your word both in attitude and practice.  Let my giving be pleasing to You.  In Jesus’ Name, I pray.  Amen.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.