July 13 – Abide in the Vine

“Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me.” John 15:4

Another word for “abide” is “reside.” When you reside with someone, an intimacy develops. Intimacy with God produces fruitfulness, which in turn brings joy. Every time you sit down and spend time in your Bible, you are building intimacy with God. Every time you set apart time in prayer, you are developing your intimacy with God. When you go to church and hear the Word of God preached, you are becoming more intimate with God.

These acts of “abiding,” or “residing,” with God will bear the fruit of righteousness. They will cause you to make “right” decisions…godly decisions. Continuous “abiding” causes you to become a DOER of God’s will.

James 1:25 puts it this way: “But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein [abiding], he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed.”

Keep putting a high value on your time spent with God. Joy will result. Blessings will result. You can never “out-give” God. “He is a rewarder of them that diligently seek Him….” (Hebrews 11:6b)

PRAY: “Heavenly Father, I long to live in Your presence. Abide with me, walk with me, live in me. I recognize my need to know You better. I purpose to spend more time with You.  Amen.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.